Cardboard Cubbyhouse: 3. Construction

I could write very thick book! But I wont, suffice to say the following truisms are .. true:

  • You get much better (and quicker) with practice
  • Measure twice, cut once
  • Tools are good. Tools actually designed to do the job to which they are being used, are even better

Construction went more or less as expected. I basically spent a long time slicing and gluing, and finally ran out of room in the shed to store bits. At that point, I worked out that what I needed was a tarp so I could part build the thing and actually leave it up. After that it was easy.

I also discovered that fine-pitch corrugated iron is very floppy. I had to cheat and prop up the corners with some left over plywood from the floor. Now that I mention it, the plywood was a lot less rigid than I’d anticipated, too.

Pictures tell the story so much better:

Part F
7 dec 2005
100_0791.jpg
Jan
100_0890.jpg
April
ran into a man at work wheeling 10 empty Dell server boxes, he was looking for the paper recycling skip. “Follow me”. I said.
100_1051.jpg
August
nine months in!
100_1059.jpg
Aug again
Finally, the whole base
100_1130.jpg
Sept
very hard to make columns stay up without walls
100_1136.JPG
Sept
making the slanted columns
100_0075.JPG
2 February 07
Take some time off work, and buy a tarp. Now I can part-assemble and leave the thing up!

100_0084.JPG
Feb 6
in goes the floor
100_0085.JPG
and a wall!
100_0087.JPG
Feb 7
a bit of lacquer, try to waterproof it. After 6 years virtually without rain, I can already see that construction of the cubby will break the drought. Pregnant rain clouds cover the continent.
100_0105.JPG
Feb 10
I can almost taste the finish
100_0113.JPG
Feb 12
we got wet
100_0118.jpg
Feb 17, behold! I am risen. The girls are inside beautifying.
100_0122.JPG
Feb 17
done.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

